UHD And Other Current Technologies Clearly Explained

A few weeks ago, the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) released the new standard for digital television: DVB UHD-1 Phase 2.

With this standard, modern television should offer technologies such as HLG, NGA and PQ in the future. These are a lot of shortcuts that can drive consumers crazy.

Many providers adorn themselves with the acronyms to justify their high prices.

But the core of the message is usually missing: What do we actually see in the picture and how does it work?

In this article, we would like to give you at least a brief insight into the functionality of the often mentioned technologies around the UHD standard.

UHD-1 goes into the next phase

After the first phase of the UHD-1 standard was heralded in 2014 and specifications for transmission technology, playback devices and content were defined, the further development of DVB UHD-1 Phase 2 should bring new opportunities.

Most video fans should now be familiar with the term Ultra HD . According to the standards of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

This means an image resolution of 3840 x 2160 color pixels, which is four times as much as HD and 20 times as much as SD. Even if UHD and 4KOften called the same.

There is a slight difference in the number of pixels (4K: 4096 x 2160 pixels).

With Ultra High Definition, you can expect sharper images with greater detail. But resolution is far from the only factor that will decide on the best devices and formats in the future.

Manufacturers and developers are increasingly focusing on aspects such as color depth or contrast.

Because even future trends like 8K cannot score with a mere improvement in resolution.

So here are a few technologies that already play a crucial role when it comes too high-quality video productions or devices.

High Dynamic Range (HDR)

It is primarily about expanding the contrast range. Because to display pictures as realistically as possible and to show the entire range of natural contrast, special technologies are required.

The current scope for film and television is called the Standard Dynamic Range (SDR) and is now slowly being converted to HDR.

Previously, the brightness range was 0.05 to 100 candela per m 2 (comparable to moonlight to lamp light), with HDR 0.0005 to 10,000 candela per m 2become possible.

That would correspond to a range between the starry sky and the blue sky. Reminder: Candela is simply the physical unit for the light intensity.

However, any end device did not yet create the full spectrum.

However, HDR remains exactly the factor that strikes us most visually, since we perceive the brightness more by the eyes than z. B. the color intensity.

Dolby Vision, HLG and HDR10

There are three known HDR formats that work in two different transmissions. Hybrid Log Gamma (HLG) is one, Perceptual Quantizer PQ (Dolby Vision and HDR10) the other.

The differences between the individual HDR standards are quite diverse.

To put it simply, it can be said that using Hybrid Log Gamma, they can also receive HDR quality on TV sets without HDR support.

This is not possible with Dolby Vision and HDR10.

In addition, the display of SDR formats on SDR displays is no problem with HLG. Incidentally , the 10 in HDR10 stands for 10-bit color depth.

Dolby Vision works with a 12-bit color depth, making it the most advanced HDR format. Panasonic already has itDevices that support all three HDR formats.

High Frame Rate (HFR)

The Hobbit was the first film to be made in HFR-3D . Thanks to digital film production, the HFR process is no longer a major obstacle.

In the past, producers did without HFR because of the much larger amounts of data. Because instead of the usual 24, 48 frames per second are produced.

Although our eyes perceive a moving image at around 15 frames per second, we often notice blurred moments in the film during fast movements.

The high frame rate prevents jerking in the image and often shows what is shown more vividly.

The technology is suitable for sports programs and action-packed films and series.

Next Generation Audio (NGA)

With the steady growth of digital possibilities, high definition is not only a must in the video area. High sound quality also characterized an excellent film or program.

Next, Generation Audio includes all new audio formats that have emerged or are still emerging as part of the HD / UHD generation.

The latest technologies include B. Dolby Atmos , where the sound experience is no longer played on one level, but we attach speakers to the ceiling, thus creating even more surround sound.

Dolby Atmos supports up to 36 speaker positions.

The NGA format also includes the DTS X format , which does not include any prescribed speaker positioning. Up to 32 positions are supported.

Also Auro-3Dis one of the top audio technologies, which is like a classic surround system, but has been expanded with additional treble speakers.

As a result, the listener receives sound from above.

The technologies mentioned are finding their way into classic television and streaming and satellite TV.

We hope that we have been able to clear up some misunderstandings and would be happy if you send us questions.

If individual technologies are still unclear, another contribution in the future is also conceivable.

Leave a Comment