6 types of HDMI cables explained

Because there are many types of HDMI cables with many functions, it is important to know the differences between them when choosing your HD configuration. 

If you are replacing your old cables, you will need to know if the new ones you buy are compatible with your devices. 

If you are trying to upgrade your system for better performance, you will need to know the advantages of the different types and problems with the most effective for your needs. 

The following should give you an excellent overview of the different HDMI cables available.


1. Type A

Type A HDMI cables are the original device cables for use with HDMI 1.0 compliant devices. 

They have 19 pins, which give them enough bandwidth to work with most HD devices.

2. Type B

Type B cables are an improved version of Type A cable. Instead of 19 pins, Type B cables have 29 pins. 

This gives them much more bandwidth, making them useful for very high resolution displays.

Like Type A cables, Type B cables are connected for use with HDMI 1.0.

3. Type C

Type C cables are another variant of the basic Type A model, but with several important differences. 

While they have the same 19 pins as Type A cable, someone configure differently them to fit in a smaller space. 

This is because we connect Type C cables for devices with portable high definition devices that use HDMI 1.3.

Because of its similarity, we can use a Type C cable as a replacement for a Type A cable with the use of a converter.

4. Type D

HDMI cables of this type are specifically for HDMI 1.4 compliant devices. They have 19 pins, but they are much smaller than Type A or even Type C cables.

5. Category 1

I certify category 1 cables to operate at 74.5 MHz. While cables that are not labeled Category 1 HDMI cables can actually operate at this speed, or even faster, there is no guarantee that they will. As it has not officially tested them as reliably as certified cables.

Category 1 cables are considered the standard for HDMI cables and will work perfectly in most cases.

6. Category 2

Category 2 HDMI cables are an upgraded certification compared to Category 1 cables and are therefore considered high-speed cables. We have tested category 2 cables to operate at 340 MHz.

HDMI cables, like all cables, suffer from signal degradation. As a result, HDMI cables work much better if they are shorter.

 It’s easier to make a high-quality short cable than a long one, and making a high-quality long cable requires more expensive materials.

Because of this, it is quite possible to get a cable that is not certified as Category 1 cable, but actually works faster than Category 2 cable.

However, this is quite unlikely unless short sea cable.


Leave a Comment